What happened? Only schema was migrated, no data. :(

Mar 20, 2015 at 2:19 AM
I ran the migration wizard for a database from SQL Server 2014 to SQL Azure - I chose "Analyze/Migrate Database". It worked beautifully, said it completed successfully. I see the database up in Azure. I connect to it using SSMS - the schema is perfect. But there is no data. I don't understand why. Sorry if this is real obvious - I'm brand new to SQL Azure. Please help!
Mar 20, 2015 at 4:01 AM
After you selected your objects (all by default), did you select the "Advanced" button and tell it to migrate Schema and Data? By default, just the Schema is done and no data. If you didn't do data, no problem. Just run SQLAzureMW again and then hit the "Advanced" button and tell it Data Only. SQLAzureMW will BCP out your data and then you can load it.

If you did hit the Advanced button and specify Schema and Data you should see the BCP output in your analysis window. If not, then something might be missing from the SQL Install.

Hope this helps,
Mar 20, 2015 at 11:26 PM
Oh gosh. I didn't expect that the schema AND data wouldn't be the default. That seems like a 'basic' option, not advanced. My mistake.

Well - I found it easily - and it worked in the migration wizard. It even told me how many rows were copied in each table. spot checking it, the counts up to the log.

HOWEVER, :( when I go to SSMS and connect to my SQL Azure - it shows 0 records in each of the tables.

What's also curious is the right click menu on the tables is different in the SSMS from the on-prem version versus the Azure version.
  • The on-prem right click menu has "New Table.... Design Select Top 1000 Rows Edit top 200 rows, etc" (typical)
  • the Azure right click menu only shows: "New Table... Script table as View Dependencies Memory Optimization Advisor Reports Rename Delete Refresh"