Can't access data from localDb

Oct 13, 2012 at 9:48 AM

I've been trying to use this tool to upload all the data froma localDb database to Azure. I'm a bit of a novice with databases so it took me a while to realise that the server name should be "(localdb)\v11.0". Perhaps the GUI could be updated in some way to offer this as an option?

It finds the database and tables OK, and scripts their structure, but it fails every time on accessing the data with BCP:

bcp.exe "[PilotQuiz].[dbo].[webpages_UsersInRoles]" out "c:\SQLAzureMW\BCPData\dbo.webpages_UsersInRoles.dat" -E -n -S (localdb)\v11.0 -T
SQLState = 08001, NativeError = -1
Error = [Microsoft][SQL Server Native Client 10.0]SQL Server Network Interfaces: Error Locating Server/Instance Specified [xFFFFFFFF].
SQLState = 08001, NativeError = -1
Error = [Microsoft][SQL Server Native Client 10.0]A network-related or instance-specific error has occurred while establishing a connection to SQL Server. Server is not found or not accessible. Check if instance name is correct and if SQL Server is configured to allow remote connections. For more information see SQL Server Books Online.
SQLState = S1T00, NativeError = 0
Error = [Microsoft][SQL Server Native Client 10.0]Login timeout expired

Can anyone advise what I can do to fix this? I've tried shutting down everything that might be holding open a connection to it.

thanks in advance for any answers, and thanks also to the creators of this wizard which looks like it will be very useful for me if I can get it working

Mark

Coordinator
Oct 13, 2012 at 5:20 PM

Hi Mark,

I would like for you to do a couple of test for me:

1)       Check your BCP version.  Start a command windows and type in “bcp /v”.  You should see version 10.50.1600.1 or later.

2)       Run the BCP command that was output by SQLAzureMW (in the command window):

bcp.exe "[PilotQuiz].[dbo].[webpages_UsersInRoles]" out "c:\SQLAzureMW\BCPData\dbo.webpages_UsersInRoles.dat" -E -n -S (localdb)\v11.0 –T